Alerts

Allergy Alert: Walkers Crisps

Oh no, not Walkers! This is sad news…

Walkers has recalled certain batches of Walkers Ready Salted and Salt & Vinegar Crisps. Due to a packaging error, a small number of Walkers Ready Salted Crisps and Walkers Salt & Vinegar Crisps may have been packed with other Walkers seasonings that are unsuitable for those on a lactose, milk, soya, and barley free diet.

This affects Walkers Ready Salted Crisps and Walkers Salt & Vinegar Crisps contained within:

* Walkers Ready Salted 6 Pack Multipacks
* Walkers 18 pack Multipacks
* Walkers 6 pack Variety Multipacks

Here are the date codes to look for:

Variety 18 pack
25-09-10 GBS 5 1 190
25-09-10 GBS 5 2 190
25-09-10 GBS 5 1 191
25-09-10 GBS 5 2 191
25-09-10 GBS 5 1 192
25-09-10 GBS 5 2 192
02-10-10 GBS 5 1 192
02-10-10 GBS 5 2 192

Variety 6 pack
25-09-10 GBS 5 F1 190
25-09-10 GBS 5 F2 190
25-09-10 GBS 5 F3 190
25-09-10 GBS 5 F1 191
25-09-10 GBS 5 F2 191
25-09-10 GBS 5 F3 191

Ready Salted 6 pack
25-09-10 GBS 5 F2 191
25-09-10 GBS 5 F4 191
25-09-10 GBS 5 F2 192
25-09-10 GBS 5 F4 192
02-10-10 GBS 5 F2 192
02-10-10 GBS 5 F4 192

No other Walkers products are known to be affected.

If you’ve bought packs with these date codes, don’t eat them! Take them back to the shop you bought them from. I’m just going to check our store cupboards now…

Allergy Alert: Tesco own-brand Flaked Pudding Rice

You’d expect a bag of plain rice to be gluten free, wouldn’t you?

Unfortunately, due to a production error, Tesco has had to recall one batch of its own-brand Flaked Pudding Rice due to the possible presence of wheat which is not declared on the label.

This product is:

Flaked Pudding Rice 250g in a plastic film bag
Best before: August 2011
Batch code: L0049A8701

For more information, see the Food Standards Agency.

Tesco are doing their best to notify people of this error. If you’ve bought this product, don’t eat it but take it back to the store.

Allergy Alert: Sainsbury’s Mandarin Jelly

OK, so like me you’re wondering why on earth there’s gluten in mandarin jelly… There isn’t, of course, but due to a packing error, some packs of Sainsbury’s own brand Mandarin Jelly contain Mandarin Royale (a bit like trifle, with sponge cake at the bottom and cream on top), but the label still says Mandarin Jelly.

This means that some packs, those with a use-by date of 14 March, might not be gluten free. I’m sure you’d notice the cream on top if not the sponge at the bottom. It’s the sponge, of course, that makes it not OK to eat.

Product identification:

Sainsbury’s Mandarin Jelly 172g – (chilled dessert packed in individual, single portion packs)
Use by: 14 March 2010

For more information see the Food Standards Agency.

Sainsbury’s has withdrawn the batch from sale and put up a notice in store to tell consumers. If you’ve bought this product, check it carefully. It might be Mandarin Jelly, as it says on the packet – but it might be Mandarin Royale. Take it back to the store, and they’ll refund your money.

Don’t eat it!

Allergy Alert: Southern Fried Popcorn Chicken

I’ve just received an allergy alert from the Food Standards Agency: ASDA has withdrawn its own-brand ready-to-eat Southern Fried Popcorn Chicken because of undeclared gluten.

Asda ready-to-eat Southern Fried Popcorn Chicken, 190g

Asda ready-to-eat Southern Fried Popcorn Chicken with a ‘Use by’ date of 18 December 2009 contains bread crumb. The product contains gluten (wheat) which is not declared on the label and is a potential health risk for those allergic or intolerant to wheat or gluten.

Product identification:

Asda ready-to-eat Southern Fried Popcorn Chicken, 190g
Use by: 18 December 2009

To find out more, visit the Food Standards Agency.

I think you’re unlikely to have bought it, because these products usually clearly say that they are coated in breadcrumb, but if you have, don’t eat it; take it back to the shop for a refund.

Allergy alert: ASDA extra special chocolate coated nuts

I’m a little confused about how, exactly, you’d get barley into chocolate and nuts, but nevertheless, we’ve received an alert from the FSA to warn us that the Asda Extra Special Chocolate Coated Nut Selection contains barley gluten that is not declared on the label.

This alert refers to:

ASDA Extra Special Chocolate Coated Nut Selection 215g bag
Best before date: End April 2010
Batch codes: BBE April 2010

Action taken by the company:

Asda Stores Ltd have withdrawn the affected batch from sale and are displaying notices in food stores to let people know. If you’ve bought this product, don’t eat it. I’d suggest returning it to Asda to find out whether they’ll refund the price (I’m sure they would).

You can find out more at www.food.gov.uk