Allergy Alert: Doves Farm Buckwheat Flour

As a rule, buckwheat is gluten free: despite the name, it isn’t wheat – it’s actually a seed.

However, in this case, there is an issue with Dove’s Farm Buckwheat Flour – the 1kg bags with a batch code of 2011 and best before date of 12/10/12.

Low levels of gluten have been found in the buckwheat flour, which is just above the limits for foods labelled gluten-free. The tests found more than 20ppm but less than 50ppm – you may remember that the new rules say that the levels must be less than 20ppm to qualify.

The company has withdrawn all affected stock. Customers with an intolerance to gluten have been advised not to eat this product and have been asked to contact the company for further advice on how to return this product.

I can’t see a reference to this product on the company site, so I expect they’ve removed it while they deal with the problem.

No other Doves Farm Foods Limited products are known to be affected.

Published by


Lucy is the mother of a coeliac, and has been managing a gluten free diet for her daughter for 20 years - though, to be fair, she does do most of it herself now...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *