Morrison have issued an allergy alert for their Free From Jaffa Cake Slices.

All date codes of the Jaffa Cake Slices have been removed from sale as testing has found the product containing milk protein (casein), which is not an intended ingredient. This makes the products a potential health risk for people who are allergic to or intolerant of milk or milk constituents.

Note that this is not because they contain gluten, but because of possible cross-contamination with milk. If you can tolerate milk, then these would still be gluten free. Sadly, if this is your situation and these are one of your favourites, then you won’t be able to find them until the problem has been resolved.

Of course, if you can’t tolerate milk, then you should not eat these products, and should return them to Morrison’s for a refund.

More details here.